Step by Step Organization NGO

Step by Step Organization is a NGO registered in Tanzania. NGO stands for “Non-Government Organisation”. This characterizes a private organization that represents social interests but is not subordinate to the state or the government.

But why an NGO in Tanzania?

During the numerous trips to Tanzania the two visited a large number of projects, some very good, and others more problematic. The two came to the conclusion that sustainable development is the only possible and meaningful solution from within Tanzania itself. Too many foreign organisations are either only short-term oriented, dependent on foreign individuals, burdened with far too much bureaucracy and internal costs or are not recognised and really wanted in the country. In order for such a development to take place from within, support is needed here and there, and we want to help people to help themselves.

However, in the long term, the Step by Step organisation should function completely independently and be financially self-sufficient, whilst taking care of the needs of the Orphans. We try to contribute to this with sensible, long-term investments that should enable financial self-preservation in the future. The purchase and development of the Farm, which would ordinarily not be necessary for an Orphanage is the core of our strategy, but also investments in Partner-Projects or local, meaningful ventures should help to achieve this goal. It was also clear to us from the very beginning that we needed a Tanzanian organisation, in addition to the commitment of many Tanzanians.

Who is on the Board of the NGO?

Jamila Taj Schmid, Tanzania
Marcel Mlacha, Tanzania
Ephraim Mlacha, Tanzania
Hanno Breitfuss, Austria
Udo Neyer, Austria

Marcel Mlacha – our man on location, in whom we place our trust.

Many years ago Marcel volunteered in our orphanage in Moshi as a young man and proved to be a very committed member of the Tanzanian community, who was also interested in the development of the country. Despite having outstanding education results, the cost of a university education was too high and rendered his dream of tertiary study impossible. We then decided to privately finance his entire bachelor and master studies from 2011 onwards, which he was able to complete very successfully in 2016.

Throughout his studies, and especially after his graduation, Marcel was incredibly helpful in all the ventures and plans we pursued in Tanzania. After all of this, and together with him we founded an NGO in Tanzania and Marcel was director from the very beginning. In this role, Marcel has always managed the entire organisation on site, purely voluntarily and without remuneration, and has taken on an infinite number of tasks and administrative procedures. Thus we could finally achieve the registration as anapproved Orphanage with his help.

Since January 2020, Marcel has been working as a volunteer director as well as Farm manager with payment as a paid employee of SBS. He has very successfully developed the properties of SBS in order to produce food for the whole family using purely organic methods. with sales aiding the financing of the Project. To produce the Project.

Ephraim Mlacha

Ephraim Mlacha is the father of Marcel, whom we got to know as a very respectful and honourable man, he managed to give all his children a good education and schooling under very simple and difficult circumstances as a farmer.

Jamila Schmid

Jamila Schmid is a very special and powerful woman from Morogoro. In addition to running a very successful and large farm, she is the mayor of a community next to Morogoro. She has often been of great help to us with her relationships, her commitment, and especially in dealing with authorities and offices. We are very happy that she has agreed to work voluntarily on the board of our NGO from 2020.

Annual Report

Project Report 2020
Project Report 2019
Project Report 2018
Project Report 2017
Project Report 2016
Project Report 2015

Step by Step Organization NGO

Step by Step Organization ist eine in Tansania registrierte NGO. NGO „Non-Governmental Organisation“ bedeutet Nichtregierungsorganisation. Dies kennzeichnet eine private Organisation, die gesellschaftliche Interessen vertritt, aber nicht dem Staat oder der Regierung unterstellt ist.

Warum eine NGO in Tansania?

Bei unseren zahlreichen Reisen in Tansania haben wir sehr viele Projekte besucht, einige sehr gute und auch viele problematische. Wir sind zu der Überzeugung gekommen, dass eine nachhaltige Entwicklung nur von Tansania selbst heraus möglich und sinnvoll ist. Zu viele ausländische Organisationen sind entweder nur kurzfristig orientiert, abhängig von ausländischen Einzelpersonen, mit viel zu viel Bürokratie und internen Kosten belastet oder im Land nicht anerkannt und wirklich erwünscht. Damit solche Entwicklung von innen stattfinden kann braucht es da oder dort noch Unterstützung, diese Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe wollen wir leisten.

Die Organisation Step by Step soll aber langfristig völlig eigenständig und finanziell unabhängig für sich alleine funktionieren und sich um die Bedürfnisse von Waisenkindern kümmern. Dazu versuchen wir mit sinnvollen, langfristigen Investitionen, die eine finanzielle Selbsterhaltung in der Zukunft ermöglichen soll, beizutragen. Der Kauf und die Entwicklung der Farm, welche primär für ein Waisenhaus nicht unbedingt erforderlich wäre, ist dabei das Kernstück unserer Strategie, aber auch Investitionen in Partnerprojekte oder lokale, sinnvolle Unternehmungen sollen helfen dieses Ziel zu erreichen. Ebenso war uns von Anfang an klar, dass wir dazu eine Tansanische Organisation und das Engagement vieler Tansanier brauchen.

Wer ist Vorstand der NGO?

Jamila Taj Schmid, Tansania
Marcel Mlacha, Tansania
Ephraim Mlacha, Tansania
Hanno Breitfuss, Österreich
Udo Neyer, Österreich

Marcel Mlacha – unser Mann vor Ort, dem wir unser Vertrauen schenken.

Marcel hat vor vielen Jahren als junger Mann schon freiwillig in unserem Waisenheim in Moshi mitgearbeitet und sich als sehr engagierter und an der Entwicklung des Landes interessierter Tansanier erwiesen. Trotz bester Schulabschlüsse wäre ihm aus Kostengründen ein Hochschulstudium nicht möglich gewesen obwohl dies sein größter Traum war. Wir haben uns dann entschieden privat sein gesamtes Bachelor- und Masterstudium von 2011 an, welches er 2016 sehr erfolgreich abschließen konnte, zu finanzieren.

Schon während des Studiums, aber besonders nach dessen Abschluss war Marcel unglaublich hilfreich bei allen Unternehmungen und Plänen die wir in Tansania verfolgt haben. Schließlich haben wir mit ihm gemeinsam eine NGO in Tansania gegründet, deren Direktor er von Anfang an war. In dieser Funktion hat Marcel stets ohne Vergütung rein freiwillig die gesamte Organisation vor Ort gemanagt und unendlich viele Erledigungen und Behördenwege auf sich genommen. Somit konnten wir schlussendlich die Registrierung als anerkanntes Waisenhaus nur mit seiner Hilfe erreichen.

Seit Jänner 2020 ist Marcel neben seiner ehrenamtlichen Tätigkeit als Direktor auch als Farmmanager mit ortsüblicher Bezahlung bei SBS angestellt und entwickelt sehr erfolgreich die Grundstücke von SBS um mit rein biologischen Methoden Lebensmittel für das gesamte Projekt, aber auch für den Verkauf und somit für die Finanzierung des Projektes zu produzieren.

Ephraim Mlacha

Ephraim Mlacha ist der Vater von Marcel, den wir als sehr honorigen und ehrenwerten Mann kennengelernt haben, der es unter sehr einfachen und schwierigen Umständen als Bauer geschafft hat allen seinen Kindern eine gute Erziehung und Schulbildung zu ermöglichen.

Jamila Schmid

Jamila Schmid ist eine ganz besonders engagierte „Powerfrau“ aus Morogoro und neben einer großen Farm, die Sie sehr erfolgreich führt, ist Sie Bürgermeisterin einer Gemeinde neben Morogoro. Sie hat uns mit Ihren Beziehungen und ihrem Einsatz schon oft sehr geholfen, insbesondere im Verkehr mit Behörden und Ämtern. Wir sind sehr froh, dass sie sich bereit erklärt hat ab 2020 ehrenamtlich im Vorstand unserer NGO mitzuarbeiten.

Jahresberichte

Projektbericht 2020
Projektbericht 2019
Projektbericht 2018
Projektbericht 2017
Projektbericht 2016
Projektbericht 2015